Man, are they ugg-ly!

I might have mentioned on one or two occasions how disgusted I am by ugg boots.

Granted, technically I am not qualified to pass judgement on fashion-related topics, seeing that I am not exactly a style icon. I do, however, have a little something called ‘common sense’ at my command. That, and the decency not to assault my fellow human beings with unnecessary lapses of taste.

Unfortunately, not few female island monkeys don’t have this kind of consideration. Quite the contrary actually, the sheer amount of ugg-wearers in this country frankly boggles my mind.

I concede that this density of bad taste could be partly owed to the fact that I am here in Essex, the proverbial home of the British chav.

Yes, I do understand that it’s winter and cold and you want to keep warm and all. But why then do I see the uggliest boots in the history of footwear so often coupled with black leggings instead of proper trousers?

So you don’t believe me? You think I am exaggerating? Think again. I have compiled irrefutable evidence. Be warned though, it is not a pretty sight.

 

 

Uggs1Here is an example to get used to the heinousness. The jeans are alright, so is the rest of the attire.

But these boots! Aren’t they just pug-uggly? A disgrace for an otherwise absolutely acceptable outfit?

I will admit that her funny feet probably have caused the boots to take this funny shape and not vice versa. But isn’t that all the more reason to wear sensible shoes?

Granted, the ones in the picture are not ‘real’ UGGs, so one could make the argument that the inferior quality is to blame for the shaplessness and general failure to function as proper footwear. But then…

 

Uggs7

 

 

But then, these here ARE the real deal. And this lady’s feet are leaning inward just as elegantly.

Not to mention that she manages to spruce up her accoutrement with a baggy pair of red trousers to match her friend’s coat. Nice!

Note: Wearing uggs in the colour black does not make them look less appalling.

 

 

 

Uggs2

 

 

An observation that this person unfortunately corroborates.

This exceptionally hideous ensemble also gets across a simple message pretty convincingly: Ugg wearers are generally inflicted by a severe lack of taste. I am sorry but it had to be said.

This is hands down the worst thing I’ve seen so far. And to think that she is raising kids…

*shudder*

 

 

 

Uggs5However, even if worn in the more traditional ‘tan boots plus black leggings’ combination, uggs are somehow sub-stunning.

This picture also illustrates one of the main issues I have with uggs: Unless your legs are exceedingly skinny these boots make them look downright elephantine.

I know, I know, what’s looking pretty compared to being comfortable? Blah-blah. Two things:

1. There are comfy, warm and not-budget-blowing boot models around that don’t make you look like you are 13 months pregnant and struggling majorly with water retention.

2. If uggs are so cushy, why then do most women not stand or walk IN them but NEXT to them?!

 

Uggs8This one here documents the extent of the problem. I am literally surrounded by uggliness when I dare the high street these days.

It also supports my theory that ugg wearers are fundamentally challenged when it comes to appropriateness. Why else would so many of them feel entitled to combine them with leggings worn as trouser replacement? With just a longish shirt over them to barely cover those ginormous butt cheaks!

Makes me desperately hope for the next gust to wait until they are out of eyeshot.

Uggs3

 

This lady here could probably pull off the ugg look, seeing that she is one of the rare cases in which the boots don’t end at the widest part of the calf, thus making her look like a rhino on a stampede.

She also proves that it is not impossible to actually walk on top of rather than alongside the sole. That can’t be easy in boots with this little support.

Still, I can’t put my finger on it but doesn’t her posture seem somehow… warped to you?

 

 

Ok, ready for my favourite? Want to sit down first?

 

 

This one brilliantly sums up the whole misery. It was like a car wreck, I just had to stare.

Honestly, don’t you have to agree that uggs should just be prohibited?

The absolute worst thing about this? See the guy walking just ahead of her? He was actually the one being adequately dressed for the mild, springy 16 °C on that day. In other words, not even the fact that springtide is slowly rolling in is very likely to stop the abomination that are uggs. British girls are known to wear their dearest ‘fashion’ accessory in literally every weather. Urgh!

 

 

I read the other day that the microclimate inside the sheepskin is particularly conducive to the development of some nasty microbes. I mean, if these ladies don’t even care about the outside appearance of their footwear, how much less will they be interested in the inner life (forgive the pun)?

And aren’t there any studies around on the long-term effects of boots without any foot support? Flat feet with ensuing knee and hip problems don’t sound extremely far-fetched to me.

 

What do you think? Are uggs the holy grail of comfort or just a crime against good taste and sense?

27 thoughts on “Man, are they ugg-ly!

  1. Uggs are evil! Evil, evil, evil!

    They look bad, they must be uncomfy, and they don’t look in the least bit waterproof… In fact they fail on every level as footwear.

    I just don’t understand why anyone would want to wear them. I am utterly dumbfounded that they have taken off like they have!

    • Ah, the waterproof problem. I knew I had forgotten to mention something. How odd to wear something like this in a country that is notorious for its rainfall, drizzle, fog and other kinds of precipitation. Especially since the weather can turn on a dime, and within minutes what started as a lovely and sunny day can totally ruin your uggs. Bahahaha!

  2. YUCK. Uggs. I never got the obsession with them, they are HIDEOUS. And as you say, many of the people I’ve seen with them on appear to have collapsed arches so they walk pretty much on the side of the boot. Don’t get me started on the “leggings as trousers” thing… me and Ben were in town one day and walking up the stairs to another level in a shop… and right in front of me, was a large girl only wearing leggings. I could see her underwear through them!! WHYYYYY!!!

    • You are totally asking the wrong person. I am a jeans girl and I can’t for the life of me understand how leggings could possibly be construed to be proper legwear. I mean they are just tights without the foot bit, for crying out loud! What’s wrong with those girls?!

      • We should form some kind of jeans-wearing, Ugg-shunning protest group… I’m sure we’d get supporters. I am totally with you on leggings too!

        Although I do confess to wearing them in the late eighties… forgive me, I was young and foolish! (Also, I swear they were thicker back then – but still not flattering, oops.)

      • Where can I sign? I am all for eradicating ridiculous fashion trends.

        PS: I forgive you. I wouldn’t want to get caught in some of the crimes I was wearing back then either. Blissful ignorance of teenagers I suppose.

      • Was the giri in the 6th picture wearing black leggings?It looks like it to me from my ened.Not sure if it is because I wasnt there

  3. I agree with you completely! Uggs are awful! (as are leggings-as-pants. Leggings are NOT pants.)

    However, my least favorite shoe of all is the Croc. To me, those are the most hideous shoe of all!

    Kate and I don’t spend much money on our appearance (at least not by American standards!), but we always invest good money on high-quality, attractive, supportive foot wear these days. It’s very important!

    • I couldn’t agree more. I blame my bad footwear choices as a youngster for all kinds of knee and lower back problems that I am struggling with today. So yeah, shoes are super important.

      As to Crocs, well at least they are practical in some circumstances (although all too often they are worn on completely inappropriate occasions). But yeah, they probably tie with uggs when it comes to ugliness.

  4. On occasion, I’ve been attempted to buy some. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for preventing this foray into pure ugly fashion. I will come back often to look at these photos!

    • Glad I could help. I am also quite happy that I am not a teenager anymore, freeing me from the peer pressure of having to buy/wear/listen to/… whatever fashion dictates at any given time.

  5. Thanks for assuring me that I’m not the only person who loathes the Ugg craze. You nailed all the reasons not to wear them. And I would add the annoying sound of the sloppy soles sliding across the floor (or concrete) because the wearer hasn’t the energy to pick up her feet between steps and resorts to shuffling from place to place.

    In my town I’ve seen gorgeous young ladies sporting Uggs during the middle of the hottest days of the summer. (I’m talking 100F) Coupled with too-short shorts and middie tops, it looks ridiculous.

    Of course, there’s another craze that I don’t get…beanie-hat wearing in ALL weather. Why? When it’s 100 degrees out why would you clap a knit beanie over the top of your noggin?

    • Ah, the shuffle! Yeah, I can see how hard it must be because these things would probably fall clean off their feet if they lifted them up as high as one does with normal shoes.

      And yes, seeing them in summer always makes me think of a steam sauna – or worse.

      As to beanies, the only time I wear one is when my ears would freeze off without one. Period. I don’t really dare to think about what the excess heat might do to their brains…

      Thanks, Linda, for the ‘lovely’ additions, and for being such a faithful supporter of my opinions 😉

  6. They really are ugly. I couldn’t agree with you more, but I find the outrageous price of them even uglier. It may be just me but every single picture here seems to show that the feet actually tip inwards. This can not be coincidence.

    • And you should have seen some of the ladies that I couldn’t take pictures of, either because I didn’t have my camera on me or because that old thing didn’t zoom properly anymore.

      Only last Friday I saw another train wreck at our local pool. I know, this summer has been far from hot, but *really*?! There must be better (not to mention cheaper) options around.

      Thanks, Michelle, for staying around a while and also taking the time to comment, I really appreciate it. Especially because you agree with me 😉

  7. I have gout and Ugg style boots are the only thing I can wear near a crisis. I have a closet full of shoes I can’t wear and I’m not talking high heels. I have gone 3 months without proper walking. The one I have offers plenty of support with a faux fur insole (I have high arches). I don’t think they’re ugly but sometimes there’s other reasons someone is wearing them. Cheers from Brazil.

    • Wow, that is the first good reason I hear for wearing them. Very sorry to hear about your condition, I am glad Uggs give you a bit of relief. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

  8. I have to give it to you the classic ugg is a very ugly boot, but their other models are tolerable. You know? The ones you can actually walk in snow without getting ruined. As for wearing tights with a shirt that stops in the middle of your butt…It’s ridiculous I just don’t think everyone wants to see every curve of your butt either. Great article!!!! (:

    • Yeah, I am aware that the company offers a whole range of really wearable shoes. Unfortunately these other models are rarely seen in this part of the world. Or maybe they just don’t stick out so much because they blend in with the “normal” shoes people wear. Thanks for reading, M, and for the support, have a lovely day.

  9. Are these photos you took yourself? Are there a lot of overweight/obese people there? I personally like UGG. They’re very comfortable, I haven’t had any issues with collapsing of soles or the boot itself. I think it’s best to say don’t knock it til you’ve tried it! 🙂 Crocs are ugly, but comfortable. Just as many other things are in this world. I personally find it weird for older women to be shopping at F21, than I do with people wearing UGG boots. I just think dressing age appropriate is most important over anything else.

    • I took all of these myself and could have taken hundreds more. Yes, the look is made worse by being overweight but skinny ladies with knock knees will also walk next to the sole after a while. I agree, Crocs are ugly but at least they maintain their shape. And they don’t make you sweat your feet off in summer. Thanks for reading and commenting, Mandy.

Leave a comment