Be prepared to cry

Dear readers,

I know, some of you have been dying to learn what on earth made me move with my family to a remote place like Cape Verde. The answer is certainly a mix of different reasons but in short it boils down to one word: sun.

Now, I am experienced (read: old) enough to realise that sunshine alone won’t make me happy in the long run. Why do you think did I bring my family, dummies?!

But seriously, there are other aspects that made husband and me take the leap and leave two perfectly normal, bourgeois lives behind for the time being: We don’t particularly care for normal. We wanted to try something else. We wanted to live our dream.

Which of course can turn out to be a sizeable nightmare, to be sure. But that’s another day’s post. Today I would like you to be jealous, very jealous. Of the sunny sides of live on Sal island.

Santa Maria beach. Atrocious, I know. This is a 3-minute walk from where I live and about 3 seconds from where I work.

Santa Maria beach. Atrocious, I know.
This is a 3-minute walk from where I live and about 3 seconds from where I work.

Picturesque, isn't it?

Picturesque, isn’t it?

Fishing from the pier

Fishing from the pier

Dinner? Definitely!

Dinner? Definitely!

Sunday, beach day with the family

Sunday, beach day with the family

Just hanging out

Just hanging out

Water sports

Water sports

This beats winter in Europe by a loooooong margin!

This beats winter in Europe by a loooooong margin!

Next time on islandmonkeys: How to cope with power outages, water cuts, limited supplies, broken appliances and other niceties. Just so that you don’t get too green in the face.

36 thoughts on “Be prepared to cry

  1. Yes, Sandra, I have been wondering. It’s been–what?–three months since you last updated us, and your images of fun in the sun come at a most appropriate time. I’ll bet your Portuguese is pretty good by now!

    • Sim, Senhor. Except it is more the local language Criolu that I’m picking up. Doesn’t matter though, as long as I can make myself understood.
      Thanks for wondering, Gary, and my apolgies I kept you in that state fo too long. I wish I could promise to be better…

    • Hi Cammy, admit it, you were surprised 😉 I might go into more detail some time in the future, depending on current developments. Glad you are following my exploits, as do I with yours 🙂

    • You didn’t read that last paragraph there, Charles, did you? In any case your comment made me laugh real hard. You know, in a bad-sorcerer-wins-the-battle(-if-not-the-war)-muahahahaha sort of way. Thanks for making my day 😉

      • I did read the last paragraph, Sandra. But we have power outages, too, as well as bad roads, exorbitant prices, and other annoyances. Okay, I’ll wait to hear about yours. Make it good. Exaggerate if you have to. (It’s snowing again.)

    • But Linda, this IS reality. Only thankfully there is the underbelly as well, otherwise everyone would want to live here and that would surely be a wee bit crowded for my liking 🙂

    • That is exactly my problem, Renee. Yes, I am busy, but when I manage a bit of time for myself I can think of at least 10 things that I’d rather do than writing (swimming in the sea, sunbathing, watching a sunset or sunrise, take a walk along the beach, to name but a few). Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to comment.

    • Thanks, Queen, I am a very lucky girl. Why don’t you come and visit, in, say, 16 years when the kids are out of the house 😉 Thanks for visiting and commenting, have a lovely day.

  2. How amazingly serendipitous that I just now sat down at my desk with an article from Dec/Jan issue of National Geographic Traveler (which shows up in my mailbox for no reason that I can ascertain) that features Cape Verde as one of the 20 best places in the world to travel! “I’ve gotta share this with Sandra,” thought I, and there was your comment regarding my photo on Otto’s critique page. Thank you for your insightful comment, Sandra. I appreciate that you take the time to really look and to share thoughtful ideas.

    Back to National Geographic…soak up the island while you can. The secret’s slipping out of the box. “It still feels like an uncharted hideaway, where tourism is nascent and blissfully small scale,” says writer Anja Mutic. Well thanks a lot, Ms. Mutic. That can’t last for now, thanks to you!

    BTW, I see that you are really a faithful follower but your site is looking rather anemic. To much fun in the sun, I presume.Well, I miss ya, but keep living in the moment and enjoy your island paradise and your family. You have your priorities well dialed.

    • Linda, this is just the weirdest coincidence! Of course I have read the NatGeo Traveler article, I have even posted it on my facebook page for all my friends and family to see how great our choice of abode is 😉

      What’s so funny though is that, today, I have come across another article featuring Cape Verde in a very positive light, and I thought, I have to blog about this. So I started to prepare a new post and when I looked up I saw that I had a new comment – yours!

      I had been thinking about writing a bit more again but for some reason it feels like I don’t have too much to say at the moment. Or I am just following too many great blogs. There are only so many hours in the day, and being woken up a few times a night by the little monkey who, amazingly, has just turned 13 months, is not exactly conducive to creativity. Maybe with this new post I hope I will get to finish soon I can turn the tide and get back into a loose routine of writing again. Time will tell.

      Thank you so much for thinking of me, and caring. I am so glad I found friends like you in the blogosphere!

  3. Pingback: Developing and getting there | island monkeys

    • Thanks, Dina, I’m glad I could make you feel a little warm on the inside. Not a day goes by that I don’t feel sorry for all the lovely people in Europe who hate the cold as much as I do but aren’t as lucky as me living here.

Leave a Reply

